Blending in with the rain

Posted: April 2, 2012 in On the bike path
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Today I biked five miles in the rain. I wanted to bike at least 10 miles because I have the goal of reaching 40 miles the last weekend in April before the actual Five Boro bike tour. But the rain and my lack of rain gear kept me at five miles. Once it started to pour, and I felt wet from the tips of my soaked through gloves to the clingy leggings I wore, I knew I had to turn around.

Before it began to pour, when it was just a light drizzle, I stopped to enjoy the haze that had settled over the Hudson River. I took in deep breaths of the smell of rain. I stopped to photograph trees covered in blossoms that seem to have appeared from one day to the next.

I noticed others along the river walkway jogging or just staring out at the NYC skyline. Somehow those people just blended in to the gray as if they had always been there like the tree blossoms.

After suffering through feeling cold and wet I gave in to the rain and felt that I too began to blend in like the others.

Leave a Reply

