On the other side of the bridge

Posted: April 16, 2012 in On the bike path, Training
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

While I’ve done most of my cycling this year along the NJ waterfront today I crossed the George Washington Bridge and biked down the NYC waterfront to the World Trade Center for a total of 27 miles. You couldn’t ask for a more perfect day to bike between the sun and beautiful breeze off the Hudson River. Cyclists on the NY side were out in droves. I came across all types of cyclists on the path from those out for a stylish ride in dresses and boots to the more serious cyclists in their racing gear that sped by the grandmas out for a Sunday ride.

I would say I fell somewhere in the middle. I kept a steady pace and passed the casual bikers but I wasn’t a speed demon. I had to navigate the roller bladers, tots on training wheels, joggers, and dog walkers. Despite the many folks on the path, it was possible to get a nice flow and fly.

Weaving in and out

Bikes on the path never stop

But do break often.

Comments
  1. Your haiku is a parable for life. I’ll take it to heart.

  2. Thanks for your comment. Happy to hear the haiku speaks to you.

Leave a Reply

